Adding password protection to Light Blue

Your Light Blue account on our website is already protected by a username and password, but some photographers like to add some extra security to our desktop app by requiring users to log in when they launch it. 

You can set up different passwords for each member of staff in your business, so everyone can have their own unique login.

To turn this option on, you’ll need to set up at least one member of staff in the ‘Resources’ section of Light Blue’s preferences window, and set a password for them. I’ve got a couple of staff members here, and I’m giving each one of them their own password.

Once you’ve set passwords for your staff, you can turn on the ‘Show User Login Dialog When Launching Light Blue’ option in the ‘General Preferences’ section of Light Blue’s preferences window.

The next time you launch Light Blue, you’ll be presented with a dialog asking for your password before proceeding.

Each member of staff can manage their own password and change it by first entering their old password, then clicking here to enter a new one.

If you forget your password, you can reset it by using your main account password by clicking here.

When you successfully enter your password, Light Blue will launch as usual.

Once you’ve logged in to Light Blue, you can log in as a different staff member without needing to quit & relaunch Light Blue. To do that, click File > Change Login.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 5 stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Table of Contents